Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Republic of South Sudan

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Types of Visas

Single entry visas

These are issued for single entry to persons who hail from countries that require a visa to enter South Sudan for either business or tourism. South Sudanese embassies or consulates are also authorized to issue multiple entry visas, depending on the reason for the visit.

Transit visas

These are issued to persons passing through South Sudan en route to other destinations. Transit visas are generally issued for periods not exceeding 72 hours.

Courtesy visas or visas for diplomats and government officials

These are visas issued to diplomatic, official and service passport holders coming into the country on official duty.

  • Foreign officials or diplomats travelling with diplomatic, official or service passports must bring an official letter (A Note Verbal) from the appropriate authorities.
  • Visas to diplomats are gratis (no visa fee will be assessed.

South Sudan is currently in the process of developing an eServices Portal, which would enable single window access to services being provided by the various South Sudan government entities, including Ministry of Interior and Department of e-Visa and Immigration Service.